About APA

APA-The Association

apaThe American Pilots' Association is the national trade association of professional maritime pilots. Its membership is made up of approximately 60 groups of state-licensed pilots, representing virtually all the state pilots in the country, as well as the three groups of United States-registered pilots operating in the Great Lakes. APA members pilot over 95 percent of all ocean-going vessels moving in United States waters. The national office for the American Pilots’ Association is located at the foot of Capitol Hill in the Fairchild Building, 499 South Capitol Street, SW, Suite 409, Washington, DC 20003. The President and APA staff work at the national headquarters.

APA—Officers and Staff
President  Captain Jorge J. Viso
Senior Vice President-North Atlantic Region Captain Eric A. Nielsen
Vice President-South Atlantic Region Captain W. Crayton Walters III
Vice President-Gulf Region (Louisiana) Captain Brett A. Palmer
Vice President-Gulf Region Captain Michael C. Torjusen
Vice President-Pacific States Region Captain Kathleen Flury
Vice President-Great Lakes Region Captain Danny Gallagher
Secretary-Treasurer Captain Whit Smith
Executive Director-General Counsel Paul G. Kirchner
Deputy Director-Associate General Counsel Clayton L. Diamond
Navigation Technology Director William R. Cairns
Operations Director Lisa P. Townshend
To E-mail Captain Viso:         JViso@americanpilots.org
To E-Mail Paul Kirchner:        PKirchner@americanpilots.org
To E-Mail Clay Diamond:       CDiamond@americanpilots.org
To E-Mail Bill Cairns:             BCairns@americanpilots.org
To E-Mail Lisa Townshend:     Lisa@americanpilots.org

Office Phone Number: (202) 484-0700